LMU logo

University Observatory Munich


Faculty of Physics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University

USM logoLMU seal
Home
Visitor Information
Staff/Guests
Research
Current Teaching
Physics Bachelor plus Astronomy
Bachelor’s Theses
Master of Science
Master’s Theses
PhD programme
Doctoral Theses
Max-Planck Research School
Talks, Workshops, and Colloquia
Wendelstein Observatory
Telescopes/Instruments
Collaborations
History of the USM
Friends of the Observatory
Internal
Job Offers
Relevant Links
deutsche Version


Guests

Name Home Institute Research Topic Host Room Phone

Prof. John Kormendy University of Texas at Austin Extragalactic Astronomy Prof. Bender I 17  
Matteo Vignola MPE 3767
 


Staff & Homepages

Name Position Phone e-Mail

    089-2180-.... ....@usm.lmu.de
    089-30000-.... ....@mpe.mpg.de
    089-35831-.... ....@universe-cluster.de

Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology
 
Ralf Bender Professor 5999, 3702 bender
Jochen Weller Professor 5976 jweller
Tommaso Giannantonio Professor 6035 tommaso
 
Roberto Saglia Lecturer 5998, 3916 saglia
Stella Seitz Senior Staff Astronomer 5996 stella
Arno Riffeser Senior Staff Astronomer 5973 arri
Maximilian Fabricius Senior Staff Astronomer 3712 mxhf
Ariel Sanchez Senior Staff Astronomer 3776 arielsan
Jens Thomas Senior Staff Astronomer 3714 jthomas
 
Alessandra Beifiori Research Fellow 6017, 3695 beifiori
Andreas Bode Research Fellow 3336 abode
Matteo Costanzi Research Fellow 5989 matteo
Daniel Farrow Research Fellow 3831 dfarrow
Matteo Fossati Research Fellow 5998, 3890 fossati
Audrey Galametz Research Fellow 3355 galametz
Nico Hamaus Research Fellow 9294 hamaus
Ben Hoyle Research Fellow 5989 hoyleb
Ximena Mazzalay Research Fellow 3569 ximena
Francesco Montesano Research Fellow 3770 montefra
Christian Obermeier Research Fellow 5995 chroberm
Kerstin Paech Research Fellow 5895 paech
Liang Wang Research Fellow 5983 lwang
David Wilman Research Fellow 5998, 3117 dwilman
 
Vanessa Fahrenschon PhD Student 5983 fahrenschon
Fabrizio Finozzi PhD Student 3569 ffinozzi
Oliver Friedrich PhD Student 5978 oliverf
Marco Häuser PhD Student 5846 mhaeuser
Steffen Hagstotz PhD Student 5989 hagstotz
Jiamin Hou PhD Student 3931 octobers
Hanna Kellermann PhD Student 5983 hkellerm
Matthias Kluge PhD Student 5981 mkluge
Mihael Kodric PhD Student 6975 kodric
Martha Lippich-Golobart PhD Student 3775 mlippich
Giorgia Pollina PhD Student 5987 gpollina
Markus Michael Rau PhD Student 5978 mmrau
Romy Rehmann PhD Student 5978 rehmann
Tea Tutis PhD Student 5987 tutis
Tamas Norbert Varga PhD Student 5982 vargatn
 
Simon Bach Master’s Student 5979 sbach
Lukas Furtak Master’s Student 5978 furtak
Fabian Hochstetter Master’s Student 5983 hochstetter
Bianca Neureiter Master’s Student 5982 bneureiter
Nico Schuster Master’s Student 5979 nschuster
Julien Wolf Master’s Student 5982 jwolf
 

Computational Astrophysics
 
Andreas Burkert Professor 5992 andi
Barbara Ercolano Professor 6974 ercolano
Til Birnstiel Professor 6973 birnstiel
Ben Moster Emmy Noether Group Leader 9284 moster
 
Klaus Dolag Senior Staff Astronomer 5994 dolag
Christian Alig Research Fellow 5991 alig
Katharina Fierlinger Research Fellow 3712 kfierlin
Matthias Gritschneder Research Fellow 6986 gritschm
David Hubber Research Fellow 9279 dhubber
Guang-Xing Li Research Fellow 6030 gxli
Aura Obreja Research Fellow 5918 obreja
Giovanni Picogna Research Fellow 6973 picogna
Rhea-Silvia Remus Research Fellow 6986 rhea
Marc Schartmann Research Fellow 5994, 3319 schartmann
Sebastian Stammler Research Fellow 9294 stammler
 
Manuel Behrendt PhD Student 3712 behrendt
Matias Garate PhD Student 6029 mgarate
Stefan Heigl PhD Student 6031 heigl
Kristina Monsch PhD Student 5970 monsch
Antonio Ragagnin PhD Student 6029 ragagnin
Philipp Schneider PhD Student 6029 philschn
Felix Schulze PhD Student 6968 fschulze
Lisa Steinborn PhD Student 5990 steinborn
Ulrich Steinwandel PhD Student 5990 usteinw
Adelheid Teklu PhD Student 6968 ateklu
Martin Zintl PhD Student 5991 zintl
 
Adrian Bittner Master’s Student 5979 abittner
Michael Frühauf Master’s Student 5990 fruehauf
Geray Karademir Master’s Student 5979 karademir
Michael Kastl Master’s Student 5981 mkastl
Marcel Lotz Master’s Student 5977 mlotz
Joseph O’Leary Master’s Student 5981 joleary
Lennart Reb Master’s Student 5978 lennartreb
Francesco Rizzuto Master’s Student 5982 rizzuto
Fatih Turan Master’s Student 5991 fturan
Lisa Wölfer Master’s Student 5979 woelfer
Apostolos Zormpas Master’s Student 5979 zormpas
 

Cosmology and Structure Formation
 
Joseph Mohr Professor 5967 jmohr
 
Jörg Dietrich Research Scientist 5942 dietrich
Veronica Strazzullo Research Scientist 6033 vstrazz
 
Matthias Klein Research Fellow 6006 mklein
Maurilio Pannella Research Fellow 6006 mpannell
 
Martin Kümmel Senior Software Developer 5993 mkuemmel
Holger Israel Software Developer 6949 hisrael
Alexey Krukau Software Developer    
Mohammad Mirkazemi Software Developer 6949 kazemi
Margarita Petkova Software Developer 7115 mpetkova
Thomas Vassallo Software Developer 5918 vassallo
 
Raffaella Capasso PhD Student 6029 capasso
Sebastian Grandis PhD Student 6023 grandis
Nikhel Gupta PhD Student 5970 ngupta
Maria Paulus PhD Student 5970  
 
Xingjian Shao Master’s Student 5981 xshao
Alexandros Tzelepidis Master’s Student    
 

Young Stars and Star Formation
 
Thomas Preibisch Professor 6016 preib
 
Martin Krause Research Fellow 3349 mkrause
Miwa Goto-Egner Research Fellow 6949 mgoto
 
Tyler Banas Master’s Student    
 

Hot Stars, Stellar Winds, Planetary Atmospheres and Gaseous Nebulae
 
Keith Butler Lecturer 6018 butler
Adalbert Pauldrach Lecturer, apl. Professor 6021 uh10107
Joachim Puls Lecturer 6022 uh101aw
 
Luiz Paolo Carneiro PhD Student 6029 luiz
Levin Hennicker PhD Student 6004 levin
Johann Weber PhD Student 6030 jweber
 

Plasma Astrophysics
 
Harald Lesch Professor 6007 lesch
 
Alexander Arth PhD Student 6885 arth
 
Pascal Förster Master’s Student 5990 foerster
Marco Smolla Master’s Student 5981 smolla
 

Munich Institute for Astro- and Particle Physics
 
Rolf-Peter Kudritzki Professor 6810 kud
 

Wendelstein Observatory and Hobby-Eberly-Telescope
 
Ulrich Hopp Senior Staff Astronomer 5997, 3960 hopp
Wolfgang Mitsch Senior Staff Astronomer   mitsch
 
Heinz Barwig Research Fellow 5974 hbarwig
Claus Gössl Research Fellow 5972 cag
Frank Grupp Research Fellow 6005 fug
Jan Snigula Research Fellow 6027, 3970 snigula
 
Christoph Ries Technical Assistant   cries
Michael Schmidt Technical Assistant   mschmidt
 

ESO-Instruments
 
Reinhold Häfner Research Fellow 6012 haefner
Hans-Joachim Hess Head of Electronics Engineering 6010 achim
Florian Lang-Bardl Senior Technical Assistant 6965 flang
 
Helmut Kravcar Electronics Engineer 5971 kravcar
Anna Monna Research Fellow 6975 amonna
Josef Richter Research Fellow 6013 jrichter
Jörg Schlichter Research Fellow 6011 schlicht
Michael Wegner Research Fellow 6020 wegner
 

Computers
 
Rudolf Gabler Senior Staff Astronomer 6019 rug
 
Tadziu Hoffmann Research Fellow 6024 hoffmann
Lisa Schneiders Technical Assistant 6025 lisa
 

Workshop and Secretary’s Office
 
Nicola Auer Secretary 6095 sekretariat
Sabine Grötsch Secretary 6001 sekretariat
Gudrun Niggl Secretary 5869 sekretariat
Uta Le Guay Secretary 6000 sekretariat
Adolf Karasz Precision Mechanic 5986 karasz
Marianne Siedschlag Technical Assistant 5970  
 
Last updated 2017 September 15 21:06 by Webmaster (webmaster@usm.uni-muenchen.de)