KMOS. Why? What? Who? How?

The Instrument Design

Basic Parameters

Derived from the scientific requirements the following detailed technical instrument specifications arise:

Requirement Baseline Specification
Optical throughputJ > 20%, H > 30%, K > 30%
Wavelength coverage1.0 ... 2.5μm
Spectral resolutionR~3400,3800,3800 (J,H,K)
Number of IFUs24
Extent of each IFU2.8x2.8 arc seconds
Spatial sampling0.2 arc seconds
Patrol field7.2 arcmin diameter
Close packing of IFUs >= 3 within 1 arcmin2
Closest approach of IFUs6 arc seconds edge-to-edge

The realisation of these specifications is accomplished following a modular approach which subdivides the instrument into three mainly identical sectors each of which containing one third of the components described below.

Pick-off Arms

The Pick-off Module:
24 robotic arms are arranged in two layers concentrically around the field of view.

The heart of KMOS is the so-called Pick-off Module consisting of 24 robotic arms, arranged concentrically around a circular field of view of 25cm diameter (corresponding to 7.2 arcmin on sky). Driven by stepper motors, these arms can perform a linear radial movement up to the centre and have an angular travel of +/- 11 degrees around their rest position, thereby jointly covering the whole field. To avoid an overcrowding of the Pick-off plane with mechanical parts the arms are distributed over two planes with 12 arms each, one located below and the other one above the focal plane. In principal, even then two arms of the same layer still can collide. In case this should happen despite several software permissibilty checks an electronic collision-detection sensor takes care of stopping all arm movements immediately.

With a small fold-mirror at the tip each arm can pick just this 2.8''x2.8'' square field which is resolved into 14x14 spectra by Integral Field Spectroscopy afterwards. The selection of the spectral passband will be accomplished by three filter wheels below the mounting plate for the arms. In addition, a calibration unit offers the possibility to provide the arms at a fixed position with light of defined wavelengths for calibration purposes.

A prototype was already manufactured and can be seen in the figure below.

One out of 24:
Prototype of a robotic pick-off arm.

Integral Field Unit Module

Following the general principle of Integral Field Spectroscopy in case of KMOS three identical IFU subsystems each collect the incoming light from 8 pick-off arms, slice it into 8x14 slices (each consisting of 14 spatial pixels) and realigns it to a 254mm long pseudo-slit which in turn feeds one of the three identical spectrographs.

The figure below traces the light beams selected by 8 of the 24 pick-off arms from the entrance lens (left, acts as a field flattener) over the arm optics and the IFU image slicers (centre) down to the spectrograph (right). The latter one obviously gets the already reformatted light after the rearranging process within the IFUs.

From image to spectrum:
Model of optical paths for beams of incoming light from 8 pick-off arms.

Spectrograph Module

According to the concept of three identical pick-off- and IFU sectors the dispersion of the light incoming from the IFUs will be accomplished also by three identical spectrographs. Each is equipped with a flat fold mirror, a toroidal collimating mirror, a 6-position wheel to select the gratings and the spectrograph camera with a 2048x2048 Hawaii-2RG HgCdTe infrared detector whose position is adjustable.

The end:
One of the three 3 identical spectrographs with the grating wheel (left) and the camera with infrared detector (centre). The red line illustrates the optical path.

Cryostat

The peculiarities of infrared astronomy require that KMOS operates in vacuum as well as it must be cooled down to -140C (the infrared detector down to -200C). The majority of components therefore is located within an evacuated cryostat (see figure on main page). The total mass of this cryostat and hence the total mass of KMOS will be approximately 3000kg.

Electronics

In order to control and coordinate the hardware devices including more than 60 stepper motors within the cryogenic environment, filter and grating wheels, calibration lamps etc. the necessary electronics infrastructure is organised in 3 Local Control Units (LCUs). A dedicated electronic collision sensor - triggered by electrical contact between the coated surfaces of any two pick-off arms stops all arm activity immediately.

Everything under control:
One out of three control electronics cabinets mounted to the cable co-rotator.

Software

As any instrument operating at the VLT KMOS uses a predefined software framework which is distributed over several Workstations (WSs) and Local Control Units (LCUs). See figure below for an overview over the interacting subsystems.

Somewhat complex:
Deployment of KMOS SW parts to the several executing environments within the VLT software framework. The components developed or modified for KMOS are coloured yellow.

The instrument-specific software within this framework then is subdivided into the following standard INS modules whereof the following must be adapted and/or rewritten according to the special requirements of KMOS:

  • The Instrument Control Software (ICS), consisting of a workstation and a LCU part, controls all hardware devices, especially the pick-off arms, belonging to the instrument.
  • The Observation Software (OS) coordinates the execution of an exposure for a given observation mode. It provides high-level coordination tasks controlling the several subsystems but does not interact with any hardware device directly. Additionally, the OS provides the interface for the Archive System. The basic unit to be handled by OS is an Observation Block which contains all parameters necessary for a single observation consisting of target acquisition, exposure and subsequent data archiving. The different sequences of actions are controlled by so-called templates depending on the actual observation mode.
  • The Maintenace Software (MS) provides the software control of calibration and test operations.
  • The Observer Support Software (OSS) finally enables an instrument-specific preparation of an observation by setting the various unique instrument configuration parameters. In case of KMOS the OSS consists of the so-called KARMA tool which mainly allocates the pick-off arms to scientific targets previously defined in an input catalogue. The standard ESO P2PP (Phase 2 Proposal Preparation) tool is part of OSS and provides the setup facilities for parameters common to all instrument.

According to the common VLT software standards the main parts of the SW are coded in C++ (parts of ICS in C) while the Graphical User Interfaces as well as the templates are implemented by means of the scripting language Tcl/Tk.

In addition to the Instrument Software (developed at USM) a dedicated data reduction pipeline will be provided (by MPE) which must be able to cope with the typical 5 GB data created per observing night.


Last modified: 2017-03-08 (Michael Wegner)

KMOS. Warum? Was? Wer? Wie?

Das Instrument

Grundlegende Parameter

Aus den wissenschaftlichen Anforderungen an KMOS ergeben sich im Einzelnen die folgenden technischen Spezifikationen:

Parameter Spezifikation
Optische DurchlässigkeitJ > 20%, H > 30%, K > 30%
Wellenlängenbereich1,0 ... 2,5μm
Spektrale AuflösungR~3400,3800,3800 (J,H,K)
Anzahl IFUs24
erfasste Fläche pro IFU2,8x2,8 Bogensekunden
Räumliche Auflösung0,2 Bogensekunden
Durchmesser Gesichtsfeld7,2 Bogenminuten
Packungsdichte IFUs >= 3 innerhalb 1 Bogenminute2
Mindestabstand IFUs6 Bogensekunden Kante-Kante

Zur Umsetzung dieser Anforderungen wurde ein modularer Ansatz gewählt, der die Funktionalität des Gesamtinstruments in drei im wesentlichen identische Sektoren aufteilt, von denen jeder ein Drittel der im Folgenden beschriebenen Komponenten enthält.

Pick-Off-Arme

Das Pick-Off-Modul: 24 Roboterarme sind in zwei Ebenen konzentrisch um das kreisförmige Gesichtsfeld angeordnet.

Kernstück von KMOS ist das sogenannte Pick-Off-Modul mit 24 Roboterarmen, die konzentrisch um ein rundes Gesichtsfeld von 25cm Durchmesser angeordnet sind (entsprechend einem Feld von 7,2 Bogenminten Durchmesser am Himmel). Angetrieben von jeweils 2 Schrittmotoren, können diese Arme radiale Bewegungen bis zur Feldmitte sowie Drehbewegungen von +/- 11° um ihre Ruheposition ausführen und decken dabei gemeinsam das gesamte Gesichtsfeld ab. Um ihre Bewegungsfreiheit zu verbessern, sind die Arme über 2 Ebenen - jeweils 12 oberhalb und unterhalb der Fokalebene - verteilt. Im Fall, dass trotz softwareseitiger Zulässigkeits-Überprüfungen zwei Arme kollidieren, sorgt ein elektronischer Sensor für den sofortigen Stop aller Bewegungen.

Mit Hilfe eines kleinen Spiegels an der Spitze kann jeder Arm gerade das quadratische 2.8''x2.8'' Feld aus dem Gesichtsfeld herausgreifen, das anschließend in 14x14 Spektren zerlegt wird. Die Auswahl des Spektralbands erfolgt mit 3 identischen Filterrädern unter der Grundplatte des Pick-Off-Moduls. Eine Kalibrations-Einheit ermöglicht für jeden Arm an einer vordefinierten Position außerdem die Eichung der optischen Komponenten mit Hilfe von Licht bekannter Wellenlänge.

Ein Prototyp eines Pick-Off-Arms wurde bereits angefertigt:

1 aus 24: Prototyp eines Pick-Off-Roboterarms.

IFU-Modul

Entsprechend dem Prinzip der 3D-Spektroskopie sammeln 3 identische IFU-Systeme das Licht von jeweils 8 Pick-Off-Armen, zerlegen es in 8x14 Streifen (jeder der Streifen enthält wiederum 14 Pixel) und ordnen es jeweils zu einem 254mm langen Pseudo-Spalt, dessen Licht schließlich einem von 3 identischen Spektrographen zugeführt wird.

Im Bild unten ist der Lichtweg für 8 ausgewählte Einzelfelder von der Eintrittslinse (die gleichzeitig die Nichtplanarität der Fokalfläche ausgleicht, links) über die Optik der Pick-Off-Arme und die Zerlegungsspiegel der IFU (Mitte) bis zum Spektrographen (rechts) dargestellt. Letzterer "sieht" nur noch die linear hintereinander angeordneten 8x14 Bildscheiben aller 8 Arme, so, als käme das Licht aus einem langen Spalt.

Vom Bild zum Spektrum: Modell des Lichtwegs für die von 8 Armen aus dem Gesichtsfeld herausgegriffenen Strahlenbündel.

Spektrograph

Dem dreigeteilten modularen Aufbau von KMOS entsprechend erfolgt die Spektralzerlegung des von den IFU-Einheiten einfallenden Lichtes in 3 identischen Spektrographen. Jeder ist mit einem Umlenk- und einem Kollimatorspiegel, einem 6-Positionen-Rad zur Auswahl des Beugungsgitters und einer Spektrographen-Kamera ausgestattet. Letztere enthält den 2048x2048 Hawaii-2RG HGCdTe Infrarot-Detektor, dessen Position über Stellmotoren justierbar ist.

Am Ende: Einer von 3 identischen Spektrographen mit dem Auswahlrad für die Beugungsgitter (links) und der Kamera mit Infrarot-Detektor (Mitte). Die rote Linie deutet den Lichtweg an.

Kryostat

Die Besonderheiten der Infrarot-Spektroskopie erfordern es, dass KMOS im Vakuum betrieben und auf -140°C (der Infrarot-Detektor sogar auf -200°C) gekühlt wird. Die Mehrzahl der Komponenten mit Ausnahme der Steuerungselektronik befindet sich deshalb in einem evakuierten Kryostat (siehe Haupseite). Die Gesamtmasse dieses Moduls wird ca. 3000kg erreichen.

Elektronik

Die über 60 Schrittmotoren in kryogener Umgebung für Pick-Off-Arme, Filter- und Beugungsgitter-Rad sowie die Kalibrationslampen, Temperatursensoren etc. erfordern eine umfangreiche Steuerungselektronik, die in 3 Local Control Units (LCUs) außerhalb des Instruments untergebracht ist. Ein spezieller Kollisionsdetektor sorgt außerdem dafür, dass alle Armbewegungen bei Kontakt zweier Arme über ihre metallbeschichteten leitenden Oberflächen sofort zum Stillstand kommen.

Alles unter Kontrolle:
Einer von drei Kontrollelektronik-Schaltschränken, eingebaut in den Kabel-Korotator.

Software

Wie jedes andere VLT-Instrument nutzt auch KMOS eine standardisierte Software-Infrastruktur, die über mehrere Workstations (WSs) und Local Control Units (LCUs) verteilt ist (Bild).

Etwas unübersichtlich:
Die Verteilung der verschiedenen Software-Komponenten auf Hardware-Knoten innerhalb des vorgegebenen Rahmens der VLT-Software. Die für KMOS zu neu zu entwickelnden bzw. zu modifizierenden Komponenten sind gelb dargestellt.

Die instrumentenspezifische Software innerhalb dieses Rahmens gliedert sich dann in mehrere Standard-Module, von denen die folgenden and die speziellen Erfordernisse von KMOS angepasst werden müssen:

  • Die Instrument Control Software (ICS), bestehend aus einem Workstation- und einem LCU-Teil, steuert alle zum Instrument gehörenden Hardware-Geräte, insbesondere die Pick-Off-Arme.
  • Die Observation Software (OS) koordiniert die Ausführung einer Beobachtung, interagiert mit der Instrumenten-Hardware aber nicht direkt. Zusätzlich bietet die OS eine Schnittstelle zum Archivierungssystem für die Beobachtungsdaten an. Die grundlegende, von der OS zu verarbeitende Einheit ist der Observation Block, der alle für eine vollständige Beobachtung notwendigen Parameter enthält. Die unterschiedlichen Abläufe werden dabei von sogenannten Templates gesteuert.
  • Mit der Maintenace Software (MS) wird die Software-Steuerung für Kalibrations- und Testoperationen zur Verfügung gestellt.
  • Die Observer Support Software (OSS) schließlich ermöglicht die Beobachtungsvorbereitung durch Einstellung aller instrumentenspezifischen Konfigurationsparameter. Im Fall von KMOS dient dazu vor allem das KARMA-Tool, das den Astronomen bei der Zuordnung von Armen zu wissenschaftlichen Zielobjekten unterstützt. Das Standard-ESO-P2PP-Tool (Phase 2 Proposal Preparation) ist zusätzlich Bestandteil der OSS und ermöglicht die Einstellung allgemeiner Parameter wie Belichtungszeiten, Spektralband etc.

Den Standards der allgemeinen VLT-Software entsprechend, wird der überwiegende Teil der Software in C++ bzw. C (Teile der ICS) implementiert, die Graphischen Benutzerschnittstellen sowie die Templates aber mit Hilfe der Skriptsprache Tcl/Tk.

Zusätzlich zur Instrumenten-Software (entwickelt an der Universitätssternwarte) wird eine spezielle Datenreduktions-Software (entwickelt am MPE) dafür sorgen, dass die pro Beobachtungsnacht anfallenden 5 GB Daten angemessen verarbeitet werden.


Zuletzt geändert: 2017-03-08 (Michael Wegner)